Thomas Crauwels
Fine Alpine
Photography

Since 2010, as a photographer passionate about the high peaks of the Swiss and French Alps, I have specialised since 2010 in the creation of black and white mountain images. After years of excursions and exhibitions, I am now considered to be one of the major artists of  contemporary Alpine landscape photography.

Through my works I share with you my fascination for the ice and the rocks that make up the high mountain environment. 
Thomas Crauwels - Fine Alpine Photography
Thomas Crauwels - Fine Alpine Photography

"To use my artistic vision to observe the changing face of the Alps and capture the magical moments that our generation is still able to admire, so that through the unique images I create I can pass on part of this heritage to posterity."

The Alps, and mountains in general, have an extraordinary capacity to change face instantly: sometimes they look generous, sometimes threatening, but always majestic.

Through my work, I wish to highlight the artistic aspects of mountain photography.

Each time I ascend one of these incredible summits the intention is to take a very specific shot at the right moment, with the right light, the right framing and the right settings. I am not attached to the figurative aspect, but I attach great importance to particular atmospheres, textures and light effects on these magical summits to reveal the beauty of the Alps to the general public.

Where rock and sky meet, and taking into account meteorological conditions, the pictures I take are an expression of my deep emotions, those that inhabit me when I contemplate these summits. How can one not be awed by the sight of these peaks close to the sky and the clouds just after a storm?

Today I am proud that my black and white photos of the Alps are widely recognised for their artistry and for the emotions they convey.

As a passionate photographer, I feel I have a mission

Beyond the artistic and aesthetic aspect of my mountain photos, I feel invested with a mission for the planet. The degradation of our mountains and glaciers drives me to use my artistic vision to observe the changing face of the Alps and capture the magical moments that our generation is still able to admire. In this way, we will be able to pass on a part of this heritage to future generations through unique photos.

Following in the footsteps of the 18th- and 19th-century painters and photographers, I continue to perpetuate thememory of the Alps, constantly evolving.

Award-winning photos

Often exhibited throughout Europe, my alpine summit photos have regularly received awards such as the International Photography Award in 2016 and 2017 or the Siena International Photo Awards (SIPA) in 2018.

However, my greatest pleasure and reward is to have my mountain photographs displayed in your home. To know that you admire them every day, that they delight your guests and that they transmit emotions to those around you is a real honour. This is why I have decided to offer my work for sale on my website, available in limited editions of prints with many frames. You have the possibility to choose the frame that will best enhance your favourite photo by integrating it perfectly into the atmosphere of your home.

Discover all the articles media dedicated to my work on the page: Media and references

Large format mountain photo exhibition Natural History Museum Geneva
Large format mountain photography exhibition at the Natural History Museum in Geneva

Client testimonials

A magical vista for mountain lovers

by Eve

Thomas Crauwels has a passion for the mountains and loves black and white photography; the pictures he creates are absolutely irresistible. The purity of the lines, the simply unique viewpoints, the photographic work Thomas accomplishes, and the exceptional quality of the prints make them works of art. From our first contact at the Mountain trade fair up to the delivery to our home, the service offered by Thomas was very professional. We enjoy the magical vista every day!! Ève M.

We enjoy it every day!

by Corinne & Werner

As former inhabitants of Zermatt, it is difficult to forget the Matterhorn, even in a new environment of mountains and nature.
We found this great picture of the Matterhorn in a gallery, so strong and intense, it is impossible to forget it........
It became clear that it should be the centrepiece of our new flat.
We also had a very nice contact with the artist, who came to deliver his work himself.
This is very nice and adds a dimension to the object, to know its creator, his passion, the conditions of the shooting.
The texture of the photo looks like a painting, the lights play on it, Next . It seems alive. A real daily pleasure!
Corinne & Werner

We were bowled over!

by Gabriella and Gilles

My wife and I are amazed at the quality of the print and the rendering of this beautiful photo. We waited for years to put a picture up on our empty wall because we hadn't come across an artwork that really bowled us over. We've now found it and it looks just great in our entrance hallway.
Moreover, it portays three peaks that are highly symbolic and  particularly dear to our hearts: Weisshorn, Dent Blanche and the Matterhorn.

We thank you again for your impeccable service (quick response to enquiries, hyper-realistic projection of the work on the preliminary photos of the wall).
In short, nothing to complain about and we look forward to seeing you at a vernissage.
Gabriella and Gilles

An incredible print

by Quentin

Thomas quickly answered all our questions, confirming our desire to acquire one of his photographs. Once we received the print , it found its perfect place in our living room, where it has since opened an unparalleled window on the magnificent horizons of the Matterhorn, Weisshorn and the Dent-Blanche. The quality of the print on the contemporary support is really exceptional, allowing us to enjoy all the details of the photograph.
Quentin D.

Fill in the quiz &

Find the ideal artwork

Fine Alpine Photography
Scroll

Connection

Register

Thomas Crauwels
Fine Alpine
Photography

Photographe passionné par les hauts sommets des alpes suisses et françaises, je suis spécialisé depuis 2010 dans la création d’images de montagne en noir et blanc. Au fil de mes excursions et expositions, je suis devenu l’un des artistes majeurs de l’univers alpin contemporain.

A travers mes œuvres, Je vous transmets ma fascination pour le monde du minéral et de la glace que constitue la haute montagne.
Thomas Crauwels - Fine Alpine Photography
Thomas Crauwels - Fine Alpine Photography

« Utiliser ma vision artistique pour suivre l’évolution des Alpes et figer ces instants magiques que notre génération aura encore la chance de pouvoir admirer, cela afin de pouvoir transmettre une partie de ce patrimoine aux générations futures au travers de photos uniques. »

Thomas Crauwels - Signature

Les Alpes, et la montagne en général, ont cette capacité à changer de visage presque à chaque instant, se montrant tantôt généreuse, tantôt menaçante, mais toujours majestueuse.

A travers mes œuvres, je souhaite mettre en avant la photographie de montagne dans tout ce qu’elle a d’artistique.

Chacune de mes ascensions vers ces sommets incroyables est destinée à réaliser un cliché bien spécifique, pris au bon moment, avec la bonne lumière, le bon cadrage et les bons réglages. Aucunement attaché à l’aspect figuratif, je valorise la recherche d’ambiances, de textures et de lumières particulières sur ces sommets magiques pour dévoiler la beauté des alpes au grand public.

La rencontre du minéral et du ciel, tenant compte également du facteur météorologique, mes clichés me permettent d’exprimer des émotions profondes, celles qui m’habitent lorsque je contemple ces sommets. Comment ne pas être impressionné à la vue de ces sommets qui tutoient le ciel et les nuages juste après l’orage ?

Aujourd’hui je suis fier que mes photos noir et blanc des Alpes soient largement reconnues pour leur aspect artistique et pour les émotions qu’elles dégagent.

Photographe passionné, je me sens investi d’une mission

Au-delà de l’aspect artistique et esthétique de mes photos de montagne, je me sens investi d’une mission pour la planète. La dégradation de nos montagnes et glaciers me pousse à utiliser ma vision artistique pour suivre l’évolution des Alpes et figer ces instants magiques que notre génération aura encore la chance de pouvoir admirer. Ainsi, nous pourront transmettre une partie de ce patrimoine aux générations futures au travers de photos uniques.

En prenant la relève des peintres alpinistes et photographes des 18ème et 19ème siècles, je continue donc à immortaliser les mémoires des Alpes, en constante évolution.

Des photos primées à de nombreuses reprises

Souvent exposées à travers l’Europe, mes photos de sommets alpins reçoivent régulièrement des prix comme l’International photography award en 2016 et en 2017 ou le Sinapcontest en 2018.

Cependant, mon plus grand plaisir et ma plus belle récompense est de savoir mes photographies de montagnes exposées dans votre intérieur. Savoir que vous les admirez chaque jour, qu’elles ravissent vos invités et qu’elles transmettent des émotions à votre entourage est un véritable honneur. C’est pourquoi j’ai décidé de proposer mes œuvres à la vente sur mon site, disponibles en tirages limités avec de nombreux encadrements. Vous avez ainsi la possibilité de choisir le cadre qui mettra au mieux votre photo coup de cœur en valeur en l’intégrant parfaitement à l’ambiance de votre intérieur.

Thomas Crauwels - Fine Alpine Photography

Mes clients témoignent

Vue magique pour des amoureux de la montagne

19 septembre 2020, par Ève

Passionnés par la montagne, amoureux de la photographie noir et blanc, les images réalisées par Thomas Crauwels ne peuvent que nous séduire. La pureté des lignes, les points de vue tout simplement uniques, le travail photographique réalisé par Thomas et la qualité exceptionnelle des tirages en font des oeuvres d'art. Du premier contact au salon de la montagne à la livraison à domicile, le service proposé par Thomas est très professionnel. Nous profitons de cette vue magique au quotidien! Ève M.

Un vrai plaisir quotidien

10 octobre 2019, par Corinne & Werner

En tant qu’anciens habitants de Zermatt, il est difficile d’oublier le Cervin, même dans un nouvel environnement de montagne et de nature.
Nous avons découvert dans une galerie cette grande photo du Cervin, si forte et intense, impossible de l’oublier……..
Il devint évident qu’elle devait orner notre nouvel appartement en tant que pièce maîtresse.
Nous avons eu de surcroît un contact très sympathique avec l’artiste,  qui est venu lui-même livrer son œuvre.
C’est très appréciable et rajoute une dimension à l’objet, de connaître son créateur, sa passion, les conditions de prise de vue.
La texture de la photo ressemble à un tableau, les lumières jouent dessus, suivant les heures. Il semble vivant.  Un vrai plaisir quotidien !
Corinne & Werner

Nous sommes tombés amoureux !

10 avril 2020, par Gabriella et Gilles

Mon épouse et moi sommes stupéfaits de la qualité du tirage et du rendu de cette magnifique photo. Nous avons attendu de nombreuses années avant de mettre un tableau sur ce mur vide
parce que nous n’avions jamais "flashé" sur une oeuvre. Nous l’avons trouvée et elle tient sa place à merveille à l’entrée de notre appartement.
De plus celle-ci représente 3 sommets qui nous tiennent particulièrement à coeur: Weisshorn, Dent Blanche et Cervin, tout un symbole…

Nous vous remercions encore infiniment pour votre service impeccable (réponse rapide aux renseignements, projection hyperréaliste de l’oeuvre sur les photos préalables du mur).
Bref rien à redire et on se réjouit de vous voir lors d’un vernissage.
Gabriella et Gilles

Incroyable tirage

17 juin 2020, par Quentin

Thomas a répondu rapidement à toutes nos questions, nous confortant dans notre envie d’acquérir une de ses photographies. Une fois le tirage réceptionné, il a parfaitement trouvé sa place dans notre séjour, où depuis il nous ouvre une fenêtre sans égale sur ces horizons magnifiques du Matterhorn, Weisshorn et de la Dent-Blanche. La qualité du tirage sur le support Contemporain est vraiment exceptionnelle, nous permettant de profiter de tous les détails de la photographie.
Quentin D.

Remplissez le quiz &

Trouvez l’œuvre parfaite

Fine Alpine Photography
Défiler